Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Lucy Dacus




Released: 9th Sep 2016



Released: 9th Sep 2016


out of stock

a forthright, disarmingly catchy debut - the Richmond, VA-based songwriter delivers a powerful record full of surprises - sharp lyrical observations, playful turns of musical phrase, hooks that'll embed themselves in your frontal lobe for days.

musically, the 21-year-old sits somewhere between sharon van etten, nadine shah, courtney barnett & angel olsen - a pretty weighty set of reference points but her startlingly mature songwriting puts her right up there amongst them. equally strong when her voice belts over chunky guitars as when her faint vibrato floats over strummed chords, there's a great variety & depth to this rcord which means you'll come back time & time again to hear more of this passionate, thoughtful young woman. "an uncommonly warm indie rock record. Lead guitar lines pour in like slow columns of sunlight & Dacus' voice itself is a comforting blur" 7.8/10 - pitchfork.


  1. I Don't Wanna Be Funny Anymore
  2. Troublemaker, Doppelganger
  3. Green Eyes, Red Face
  4. Strange Torpedo
  5. Dream State
  6. Trust
  7. Map On A Wall
  8. Direct Address
  9. Familiar Place