Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Martha Wainwright

Goodnight City

Play It Again Sam


Released: 11th Nov 2016



Released: 11th Nov 2016


‘Goodnight City’ features 12 brand new songs recalling the emotional rawness of her debut album, much of it encapsulated by the captivating lead track ‘Around The Bend’ and her extraordinary voice.

Martha wrote half the songs on the album while the other half were written by friends and relatives: Beth Orton, Glen Hansard, Rufus Wainwright, Michael Ondaatje and Merrill Garbus of tune-yArDs. “most promising on Goodnight City is what a leap forward it represents (…) in terms of Wainwright nailing stylistic variation on her own cuts, from the gorgeous, country-flecked opener ‘Around the Bend’ to the simmering tension of ‘Window’. Her most polished record to date, in every sense of the word” – the line of best fit

Goodnight City


  1. Around The Bend
  2. Franci
  3. Traveller
  4. Look Into My Eyes
  5. Before the Children Came Along
  6. Window
  7. Piano Music
  8. Alexandria (Written by Beth Orton)
  9. So Down
  10. One Of Us
  11. Take The Reins
  12. Francis