Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Jamie Lidell

Building A Beginning



Released: 14th Oct 2016


red + mustard 2lp + download

Released: 14th Oct 2016


out of stock

This is the sound of Lidell purifying himself in the waters of smooth, earthy psychedelic soul - think the subtle low end on Marvin Gaye's ‘What's Going On’, the swirling loveliness of Temptations' ‘Cloud Nine’, and the beatific radiance of ‘Stevie Wonder’.

Over the last 15 years he has cemented his reputation as an artist refusing easy categorisation - and that restless spirit follows the British poly-genre wizard into this, his sixth album. His biggest step away from the electro and pop sounds he became known for, ‘Building a Building’ allows his distinctive songwriting touch and impossibly gorgeous vocals to take front-and-centre stage.

Building A Beginning


  1. Building a Beginning
  2. Julian
  3. I live to Make You Smile
  4. Find It Hard to Say
  5. Me and You
  6. How Did I Live Before Your Love
  7. Walk Right Back
  8. Nothing’s Gonna Change
  9. In Love and Alone
  10. Motionless
  11. Believe In Me
  12. I Stay Inside
  13. Precious Years
  14. Don't Let Me Let You Go