Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

the anchoress

Confessions Of A Romance Novelist (expanded edition)



Released: 14th Oct 2016


out of stock

2lp + download

Released: 14th Oct 2016


a stunning, darkly poetic album this – in the middle ground between lana del rey’s glamorous melancholia and Chelsea wolfe’s celebration of the macabre and you’ll find the anchoress.

in her own words, "Deconstructing normative ideas of love and romance. With each song sung by a different character, it's what you might call a musical ghost writing of sorts. This album has been made on a wing and a prayer, lots of favours, one car crash, one death, one broken hand, and a lot of patience on so many parts. Stir in 3 jobs, 4 studios, 2 arrests, 3 pianos, 40 songs and 1 very patient engineer - and you get some way to understanding what a long road it has been." "Deft, engrossing lyrical work with some beautifully dark arrangement.... enthralling" - Clash.

Confessions Of A Romance Novelist (expanded edition)


  1. Long Year
  2. What Goes Around
  3. Doesn't Kill You
  4. You And Only You (feat Paul Draper)
  5. One For Sorrow
  6. P.S. Fuck You
  7. Popular
  8. Bury Me
  9. Intermission (Notes To The Editor)
  10. Waiting To Breathe
  11. Chip On Your Shoulder
  12. Confessions Of A Romance Novelist
  13. You And Only You (Acoustic Version)
  14. Bury Me (Acoustic Version)
  15. Long Year (Acoustic Version)
  16. Popular (Acoustic Version)
  17. What Goes Around (Acoustic Version)(cd only)