Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.





Released: 4th Nov 2016



Released: 4th Nov 2016


out of stock

an astonishing album that could only have come from the capital -yussef kamaal frame jazz inside the pirate radio broadcasts of grime and bass music.

The jazz side takes inspiration from the anything-goes spirit of ‘70s jazzfunk, on albums by Herbie Hancock or the Mahavishnu Orchestra, giving them a loose template with plenty of room to experiment. The pair, made up of Yussef Dayes and Kamaal Williams (aka Henry Wu), have had little in the way of formal training. Instead, their musical tastes – and approach to playing – are indebted to Thelonious Monk’s piano as much as the drum programming of Kaidi Tatham. “It's all about the drums and the keys,” Williams says. “Not to take anything from anyone else, but that's where it all originates from: the chords, the rhythm of the chords and the drums.”



  1. Black Focus
  2. Strings Of Light
  3. Remembrance
  4. Yo Chavez
  5. Ayla
  6. O.G.
  7. Lowrider
  8. Mansur's Message
  9. WingTai Drums
  10. Joint 17