Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.



thrill jockey


Released: 27th Jan 2017


limited clear lp + download

Released: 27th Jan 2017


the innovative electronic duo of James Ginzburg & Paul Purgas compose within a complex set of self-imposed parameters or rule sets & the results of their expeditions on ‘Borders’ are at once minimal & visceral.

Focusing on shifting timbral changes over melody, Emptyset’s work is an exploration of the relationship between rhythm, texture & space that will appeal to fans of raime, tim hecker, andy stott or demdike stare. this is the duo's Thrill Jockey debut following limited & sold out releases for Raster-Norton, Subtext, Future Days & Caravan Recordings. “The pair gravitate towards furious explorations of what initially appear to be simple rhythmic patterns, each of which the duo eke out & tease, pulling them into new, ever more distorted configurations” - FACT, “Intriguing - even bracing” - The Guardian, “Emptyset’s stripped-down electronic music plays tricks with space and time.” - The Quietus.



  1. Body
  2. Border
  3. Descent
  4. Across
  5. Speak
  6. Axis
  7. Sight
  8. Retrieve
  9. Ascent
  10. Ground
  11. Dissolve