Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

the necks


ideologic organ


Released: 3rd Feb 2017


out of stock

the legendary Australian trio explore & extend the practices embedded within improvisation, jazz, post rock, ambient, minimal, & textural, 'sound based' music to fascinating effect.

The immediacy of ‘Rise’ confirms this new path, as the mournful tones of Lloyd Swanton's bass swirl around Chris Abrahams' crystalline piano motif, with Tony Buck's percussion steering proceedings into enlightening free-jazz territories. ‘Blue Mountain’ cuts a swathe through the sonic undergrowth, with soul organ, rattling percussion, whistles, & loping sound-waves all vying for the foreground. ‘Overheard’ retains a sublime melancholic aura as the percussion & keyboards simultaneously embrace & fall apart, whilst ‘Timepiece’ skips along as a gentle gesture of further possibilities



  1. Rise
  2. Overhear
  3. Blue Mountain
  4. Timepiece