Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.





Released: 17th Mar 2017


140g 2lp + download

Released: 17th Mar 2017


out of stock

if 2016’s stunner was a log-cabin confessional, then its full-band treatment draws it out into the warmth and joy of  a spontaneous tavern sing-song, and adds 7 wonderful new songs.

When he wrote and recorded the songs on 'Ruminations', entirely solo – with just voice, piano, guitar and harmonica – he intended to ultimately record them with a full band. In the midst of putting together that band – The Felice Brothers plus the legendary drummer Jim Keltner – the passionate responses he was getting to those first solo recordings, from friends and colleagues, encouraged him to release the songs as-is, in their original sparse form, as his 7th solo album, 'Ruminations'. Meanwhile, he simultaneously moved ahead with his plans to record ‘salutations’ with the band. Guest contributions come courtesy of Jim James, M Ward and Gillian Welch, to name but a few!



  1. Too Late To Fixate
  2. Gossamer Thin
  3. Overdue
  4. Afterthought
  5. Next Of Kin
  6. Napalm
  7. Mamah Borthwick
  8. Till Saint Dymphna’s Kicks Us Out
  9. Barbary Coast
  10. Tachycardia
  11. Empty Hotel By The Sea
  12. Anytime Soon
  13. Counting Sheep
  14. Rain Follows The Plow
  15. You All Loved Him Once
  16. A Little Uncanny
  17. Salutations