Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

mount eerie

A Crow Looked At Me

P.W. Elverum & Sun

limited import lp - more due soon

Released: 21st Apr 2017


out of stock

‘death is real’ – the opening line of mount eerie’s eulogy to his late wife starts us on a journey through bleak, ordinary, every-day grief – shirking florid metaphor for the stripped back and quietly devastating truth.

Recorded in the same room where genevieve died, the album structurally owes a debt to sun kil moon’s  ‘benji’ and the antlers’ ‘hospice’ – folding up immense sorrow into small, humdrum moments – taking out the trash, singing on the stairs. But the significance within these moments is beautifully drawn out by Phil Elverum’s soft, defeated voice and the stark truth behind each song.  It is an incredibly difficult but also very rewarding record. Death is real, Elverum shows, but then so is life and all the tiny, precious moments held within it. 

Helen recommends: “an album that i can't stop coming back to - a devastating and poignant testament to love, life & the quiet horrors of death”

A Crow Looked At Me


  1. Real Death
  2. Seaweed
  3. Ravens
  4. Forest Fire
  5. Swims
  6. My Chasm
  7. When I Take Out The Garbage At Night
  8. Emptiness pt. 2
  9. Toothbrush/Trash
  10. Soria Moria
  11. Crow