Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

sam amidon

The Following Mountain



Released: 2nd Jun 2017


heavyweight 140g lp + download

Released: 30th Jun 2017


sam amidon has made a career of reimagining other people’s songs and subtly subverting the expectations of what a folk performer should be.

his recordings have often found new ways for old words to resonate, or profundity in the crevices of pop kitsch – but here he presents his first set of entirely original compositions. however, it is perhaps a duality that collapses under scrutiny in amidon’s case, with these gorgeous cuts touching upon traditional sources both lyrically and musically. Whatever their geneses, this man’s songs always provide solace and succour for the soul.  Shahzad Ismaily expertly accompanies, with a magnificent guest appearance from celebrated free jazz drummer milford graves.

The Following Mountain


  1. Fortune
  2. Ghosts
  3. Juma Mountain
  4. Another One Gone
  5. Gendel in 5
  6. Blackbird
  7. Trouble In Mind
  8. Warren
  9. April