Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


hug of thunder



Released: 7th Jul 2017


limited clear 2lp + booklet + vinyl only bonus track + download

Released: 7th Jul 2017


out of stock

the sweeping, expansive new album from the huge indie ensemble restates their ability to provide the joyous music we need, at the precise moment when we need it most.

seven years since we celebrated with their last record, ‘hug of thunder’ marks a welcome return of leslie feist and Emily haines to the mix and the delectable dreaminess that their presence brings – just check that wonderful title track. elsewhere the epic potential of this collective comes to the fore once again through brassy crescendos, sugar rushes of percussion, love-soaked songwriting, and soaring guitar set pieces (big shout out to do make say think’s Ohad Benchetrit for the wonderment his axe-wielding brings). the title has it completely right, this is an album of warm power – like sunshine bursting through clouds. “Some of the most exuberant and immediately engaging music they've ever recorded” 8/10 - uncut

hug of thunder


  1. Sol Luna
  2. Halfway Home
  3. Protest Song
  4. Skyline
  5. Stay Happy
  6. Vanity Pail Kids
  7. Hug Of Thunder
  8. Towers And Masons
  9. Victim Lover
  10. Please Take Me With You
  11. Gonna Get Better
  12. Mouth Guards of The Apocalypse
  13. Old Dead Young (Bonus track - vinyl only)