Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Emiliana Torrini

FISHERMAN’S WOMAN (2017 reissue)

Rough Trade


Released: 1st Sep 2017


Originally released in 2005 and long out-of-print, Rough Trade Records are proud to announce the re-release of Emiliana Torrini’s first album for the label.

“Home alone and happy / Nothing brings me down" So opens Emiliana Torrini’s second album and first for Rough Trade, a soft-yet-searing collection of twelve intimate and atmospheric songs that will whisper their way into your bloodstream.

entirely devoid of the self-conscious quirkiness of so many of her contemporaries, she's closer in spirit to the likes of sandy denny and nick drake. her hushed, fragile vocal style is intimate and entrancing without ever sounding affected or precious. subtle support from some empathetic musicians keeps the focus squarely on torrini's ethereal voice and on the hypnotic acoustic-guitar patterns around which most of the tunes revolve. torrini's lyrics are alternately confessional/emotional and allusive/cryptic, but the honesty of her delivery makes every song come across with an equally visceral impact.

FISHERMAN’S WOMAN (2017 reissue)


  1. Nothing Brings Me Down
  2. Sunny Road
  3. Snow
  4. Lifesaver
  5. Honeymoon Child
  6. Today Has Been OK
  7. Next Time Around
  8. Heartstopper
  9. At Least It Was
  10. Fisherman’s Woman
  11. Thinking Out Loud
  12. Serenade