Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Strikes Back- The Sound of Studio One

kingston sounds


Released: 15th Sep 2017



Released: 15th Sep 2017


this compiles many of the great Studio hits that Bunny Lee recorded with many familiar names that had originally cut at the famed Studio 1.

The Sound of Studio 1 can be identified by the great singers that it cultivated along the many great songs that these singers released. The 1960’s in Jamaica was run by two main factions, Coxsonne’s Studio 1 and Duke Reid’s Treasure Isle. These two leading protagonists saw what some of the other great Sound System men had not taken onboard, that when the tunes they imported began to dry up from the USA, their future lay in producing music. By the late 1960’s, this supremacy was being challenged by the up and coming new producers on the scene, Lee Perry being one, and the other being ‘Ghost of the Studios’ himself, Bunny Lee.


Strikes Back- The Sound of Studio One


  1. Party Time- Dennis Brown
  2. Fancy Make Up- John Holt
  3. Can I change your mind- Alton Ellis
  4. Mean Girl- Jackie Edwards
  5. Once Upon a Time- Delroy Wilson
  6. Moving Away- Ken Boothe
  7. Dancing Mood- Delroy Wilson
  8. The Love of a Woman- Horace Andy
  9. Man Next Door (Got to Get Away)
  10. Those Guys- Pat Kelly
  11. I’m Still Waiting- Jackie Edwards
  12. Why Birds Follow Spring- Cornell Campbell and The Eternals
  13. Soul and Inspiration- Johnny Clarke
  14. Riding For a Fall- Delroy Wilson
  15. rainy Night In Gerorgia- Lord Tannomo*
  16. Queen Of The Minstrels- Cornell Campbell and The Eternals*
  17. Melody Life- Hortense Ellis*
  18. Why Did You Leave Me- Cornell Campbell*