Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Death and Vanilla

The Tenant

fire records

magenta lp + download

Released: 23rd Feb 2018


their unreleased live score of ‘The Tenant’ reimagines the original soundtrack four decades on as a haunting instrumental; a foreboding piece of dark and cinematic avant-garde music that’s alienated, lonely and melancholic.

Moments of hallucination and delusion mirror the lead character Trelovsky. With the band at their most minimal, the accomplished musicians once again bring the dark narrative to life with their expansive and ethereal noir sound. the music recalls the eerie, haunted ambience of Angelo Badalamenti/Julee Cruise’s Twin Peaks soundtrack, Stereolab/Broadcast’s experimental vision of ‘50s lounge muzak/exotica and French ‘60s pop, or the narcotic country-noir of Mazzy Star. “The retro leaning Scandi duo fire up their Moogs and mellotrons, sonic archaeologists with a hauntological bent […] there is an alluring sexiness to their avant-Kraut Moog-pop excursions.” – Uncut.

The Tenant


  1. Loctaire - intro
  2. Zy And Choule
  3. Church Music
  4. Walls Have Teeth
  5. Labyrinthe
  6. Mouvement Panique
  7. Free Design Kung-Fu
  8. ”Do You Have Any Trouble With Your Neighbours?”
  9. ”If You Cut Off My Head, What Do I Say? Me And My Head Or Me And My Body?”
  10. Dioz Delirium
  11. Everything Is Always Happening
  12. Solitaire
  13. The Bouncing Head
  14. Music Box - outro