Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Brushes with Happiness


purple lp + download

Released: 22nd Jun 2018


the prolific band have crafted a record filled with rich, moody atmosphere, combining bluesy instrumental jams with penetrative, yearning lyricism.

This album is Mellower and more reflective than 2017’s rock’n’roll surf-garage-rock collaboration with Slow Club’s Charles Watson as The Surfing Magazines, or 2016’s blues-driven ‘Bamboo Diner in the rain’. It’s a minor-key, epic masterpiece that sees them in contemplative and expansive mood. This album is more akin to 2016’s acoustic release, ‘A Season in Hull’, which - like ‘Brushes With Happines’ - was recorded live in one room in a single January day. They wanted to make an album that was as spontaneous as possible, emulating the jazz, folk, blues and live albums that they love so much.

Brushes with Happiness


  1. The Red Suitcase
  2. Rise Up
  3. Jim
  4. Laces
  5. The Little Window
  6. Crow Jane
  7. The Burnt Match
  8. Brushes With Happiness
  9. Volcano