Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


The Ballad Of Sally Rose (Expanded Edition)


140g 2lp

Released: 1st Jun 2018


out of stock

originally released in ’85, her “country opera” concept album returns remastered, with an additional 10 demo tracks.

Most of these previously unreleased recordings feature Harris accompanying herself on acoustic guitar, giving them a stripped-back intimacy. the song cycle is based loosely on her short time with influential singer-songwriter Gram Parsons, who died in 1973. Known more for singing songs written by others, this was Harris’ first self-composed album and it remains one of her favourites. Previously, Harris used the name Sally Rose as an alias on tour. So when she started writing songs about a singer whose lover and mentor – a hard-living, hard-drinking musician – is killed while on the road, the name Sally Rose was a natural fit.

The Ballad Of Sally Rose (Expanded Edition)

  1. The Ballad Of Sally Rose (Remastered)
  2. Rhythm Guitar (Remastered)
  3. I Think I Love Him / You Are My Flower (Remastered)
  4. Heart To Heart (Remastered)
  5. Woman Walk The Line (Remastered)
  6. Bad News (Remastered)
  7. Timberline (Remastered)
  8. Long Tall Sally Rose (Remastered)
  9. White Line (Remastered)
  10. Diamond In My Crown (Remastered)
  11. The Sweetheart Of The Rodeo (Remastered)
  12. K-S-O-S (Remastered)
  13. Sweet Chariot (Remastered)
  14. Timberline (Demo)
  15. The Sweetheart Of The Rodeo (Demo)
  16. Sweet Chariot (Demo)
  17. The Ballad Of Sally Rose (Demo)
  18. Heart To Heart (Demo)
  19. Woman Walk The Line (Demo)
  20. White Line (Demo)
  21. Diamond In My Crown (Demo)
  22. Rhythm Guitar (Demo)
  23. Bad News (TV Mix)