Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Kathryn Joseph

from when I wake the want is

Rock Action


Released: 3rd Aug 2018


heavyweight clear lp

Released: 3rd Aug 2018


out of stock

An other-wordly and devastatingly affecting sophomore from a distinctive artist navigating her way through life’s challenges.

Joseph astounded us in 2015 with her “Scottish album of the year”, ‘Bones You Have Thrown Me…’ and although this continues along a similar sonic path, she wanted it to be “more metallic sounding and harder, with electronic details”. The results are nothing short of spellbinding. Those intricate electronic details are layered with such unbelievable delicacy that the record’s quiet magnitude is almost impossible to recognise at first. The magic is in the way that it haunts you, hovering in your mind, demanding your repeat attention. The sparse recurring piano motifs and subtle drum thuds leave ample space for Joseph’s powerful quavering vocals to circle around, much like the work of Lou Rhodes (Lamb), Agnes Obel or Cocorosie and in her more histrionic moments, like Kate Bush.

“her music is as powerful as it is introverted, as insistent as it is subtle. she makes her points quietly, but with neurotic force.” 8/10 – uncut.

from when I wake the want is

  1. IIII
  2. from when I wake the want is
  3. and you survives
  4. tell my lover
  5. and it will lick you clean
  6. there is no god but you
  7. safe
  8. we have been loved by our lovers
  9. mouths full of blood
  10. mountain
  11. weight
  12. ^^

    + exclusive tote bag (while stocks last)