Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


New Hymn To Freedom

the leaf label


Released: 31st Aug 2018


2lp + download

Released: 31st Aug 2018


A second mesmerising set of groove-laden, cosmic, electronic, psychedelic, jazz explorations from this astonishing trio.

When electronic producer / analogue synth nerd Luke Abbott, saxophonist Jack Wyllie from Portico Quartet and Aussie composer/percussionist Laurence Pike of PVT come together, something extraordinary occurs. Free-form improvisations often have a tendency to go off on sprawling tangents, testing commitment and losing impact. That’s certainly not the case here though. Despite the free and loose energy, ‘New Hymn To Freedom’ remains tightly wound and not a second too indulgent. If you like your trippy electronica beats with a healthy dose of jazz adventuring and some serious space-drone jams, or your trippy space jams with a healthy dose of drone-electronica adventuring and some serious jazz beats, then come join us in the house of the rising Szun!

“Can expel the darkness from your life and induce prismatic dreams” - All That Jazz

"[track 'Constellation'] never loses sight of its original motifs, but it becomes wrapped in so many strands of saxophone and percussion that by the end, the song seems to explode, leaving glittering bits of stardust to settle in the atmosphere." - pitchfork

New Hymn To Freedom


  1. Constellation (video)
  2. Fall Into Water
  3. High Szun
  4. Temple
  5. Moon Runes
  6. New Hymn To Freedom
  7. Slow Motion (vinyl only bonus track)

    **exclusive 'Live From Space' bonus disc** (while stocks last)
    1) Constellation
    2) Temple
    3) High Szun
    4) Moon Runes
    5) Fall Into Water