Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Great Thunder

Merge Records


Released: 7th Sep 2018


LP + download

Released: 7th Sep 2018


Katie Crutchfield’s ever-shifting musical project throws yet another curve ball with this vastly stripped back ep of largely piano-focused ballads.

On the heels of 2017’s ‘Out in the Storm’, Crutchfield found herself looking to take a sharp turn away from the more rock-oriented influences of her recent records towards her more folk and country roots. “I would say that it is a complete 180 from the last record: super stripped-down, quiet, and with me performing solo, it’s a throwback to how I started,” writes Crutchfield. “Overall, the EP is a warm, kind of vibey recording.” fans of julien baker, agnes obel, father john misty and carole king will adore this from the get-go. "Clearing the scattered underbrush away from the seeds of these songs has allowed them to fully flower at the hand of their creator.  It's clear that great effort went into the nurturing of these songs, we just get to marvel at the bouquet" 5* - soundblab

Great Thunder


  1. Singer’s No Star
  2. You’re Welcome
  3. Chapel of Pines
  4. You Left Me with an Ocean
  5. Slow You Down
  6. Takes So Much
  7. Singer’s No Star
  8. You’re Welcome
  9. Chapel of Pines
  10. You Left Me with an Ocean
  11. Slow You Down
  12. Takes So Much.