Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Kitty MacFarlane

Namer Of Clouds



Released: 21st Sep 2018


Cerebral and classy, honest and immediate, these are not throwaway lyrics or everyday melodies but thought-provoking and evocative compositions with wonderfully crafted soundscapes from the Bristol-based folk chanteuse.

Her sharply observed narrative songs are pure poetry, rich with visual imagery and written with an eco-eye – woven loosely together into a theme of mankind’s relationship with the wild. Gathering inspiration from the sky to the seabed, Kitty’s lyrics touch on intervention and rewilding, climate change and migration and one singular song which is a magical aural tapestry of woman’s historical relationship with textiles and the land. The album is augmented by all kinds of ‘found sound’ recorded in locations from Somerset to Sardinia – birdsong, waterfalls, the click of knitting needles- and is bookended by sounds of the wild.

Namer Of Clouds


  1. Starling Song
  2. Namer Of Clouds
  3. Seventeen
  4. Sea Silk
  5. Morgan’s Pantry
  6. Glass Eel
  7. Wrecking Days
  8. Dawn & Dark
  9. Frozen Charlotte
  10. Man, Friendship
  11. Inversnaid