Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

charles bradley

Black Velvet


lp + download

Released: 9th Nov 2018


this is a profound farewell to the late great soul icon, made up of songs recorded during the sessions from each of his three albums, heard here for the very first time in all their scorching glory.

"Can't Fight the Feeling," "Fly Little Girl" and the heart-wrenching single "I Feel a Change"; hard core rarities like his funk-bomb duet with LaRose Jackson, "Luv Jones," the psychedelic groover, "(I Hope You Find) The Good Life" and the ever-illusive alternate full band electric version of "Victim of Love"; sought-after covers of Nirvana's "Stay Away," Neil Young's "Heart of Gold" and Rodriguez's "Slip Away"; and the title track "Black Velvet," a stirring Menahan Street Band instrumental to which Charles was never able to cut a vocal. “a gritty exclamation point on a brief but vital recording career” 8/10 – uncut.

Black Velvet


  1. Can’t Fight The Feeling
  2. Luv Jones
  3. I Feel A Change
  4. Slip Away
  5. Black Velvet
  6. Stay Away
  7. Heart Of Gold
  8. (I Hope You Find) The Good Life
  9. Fly Little Girl
  10. Victim Of Love (Electric Version)
  11. Strictly Reserved For You (Stripped Mix) (3:57) (boxset 12" only)
  12. How Long (Stripped Mix) (3:04) (boxset 12" only)
  13. Loving You (Stripped Mix) (5:41) (boxset 12" only)
  14. The World (Is Going Up In Flames) (Stripped Mix) (4:30) (boxset 12" only)
  15. A Message from Charles (1:24) (boxset 12" only)