Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


The Things We Make (rsd19)


record store day 2019 - blue LP

Released: 13th Apr 2019


out of stock

Beggars Arkive is excited to announce a special release for RSD 2019, Six By Seven’s debut album ‘The Things We Make’.

The words and music were crafted together by band members Chris Olley (vocals, guitar), Sam Hempton (vocals, guitar), Chris Davis (Drums), Paul Douglas (Bass) and James Flower (Trumpet) except for their cover of Mercury Rev’s ‘Young Man Stride’ (bonus track on Japanese ’98 release), all recorded at the historic Moles Studio (Portishead, Bjork, The Chemical Brothers). The artwork was creatively constructed by British music photographer Steve Gullick. This album was critically acclaimed with accolades including taking 13th position on NME's end-of-year poll for 1998. “Six by Seven filtered its influence through standard guitar-band instrumentation: the patient builds and trembling leads of their debut gave way to frenetic, skittering rhythms and tweaked-out distortion-pedal squalls, transforming the band from art-rock aesthetes to noise-punk preachers” - Pitchfork 2017. Long out of print, now re-pressed on exclusive blue vinyl. Limited to 500 for the UK and Ireland.

The Things We Make (rsd19)


  1. A Beautiful Shape
  2. European Me
  3. Candlelight
  4. For You
  5. Spy Song
  6. Something Wild
  7. Brilliantly Cute
  8. Oh! Dear
  9. 88-92-96
  10. Comedown