Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

mariee sioux

Grief in Exile

night bloom records


Released: 7th Jun 2019


limited clear lp + download

Released: 21st Jun 2019


out of stock

Ethereal yet lushly orchestrated folk – these songs land somewhere between the otherworldliness of nick drake, the intricate brilliance of Joanna newsom & the beauty of Vashti bunyan.

‘grief in exile’ is transcendent – it’s corporeal but otherworldly, intricate but effortless, expansive yet personal. Perhaps most importantly, Sioux allows these songs to breathe and exist without cutting them off – her lyrics are poetic and profound and she’s not hiding them in layers or orchestrations. We reckon that if you enjoy anyone from margo price to anna st louis to alela diane you’re going to love this album as much as we do.

Grief in Exile


  1. Black Snakes
  2. Baby Wave
  3. Goose Song
  4. Grief in Exile
  5. Behind the Veil
  6. She Knows White
  7. Coyote with the Flowering Heart
  8. Love Like Water
  9. My Birds