Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Kae tempest

The Book of Traps and Lessons


deluxe cd + hardback booklet

Released: 14th Jun 2019

£21.99 £5.98

out of stock


Released: 14th Jun 2019


Furiously carving a path of her own through this crazy world, the spoken word artist, rapper, poet, novelist & playwright continues to redefine what it means to be a modern wordsmith against some stark & menacing beats.

Her 3rd studio album is by no means an easy listen but it's vital, stimulating & compelling. There really is no-one quite like her. Fearless, ascerbic, touching & empathetic, she uncovers the missing link between the Golden Ages of literature & hip hop. Her 3rd studio album was crafted with Rick Rubin (who came to her after hearing her perform her poetry live) & her ridiculously busy producer Dan Carey (Speedy Wunderground) over the course of the past five years, in paralell to her previous masterworks, 2014’s 'Everybody Down' & 2017’s 'Let Them Eat Chaos'. "I won't attempt to describe how deep & talented she is, for I am without the sufficient words. It's like trying to describe the sun to darkness" - Alan Sparhawk (Low).

The Book of Traps and Lessons

  1. Thirsty
  2. Keep Moving Don't Move
  3. Brown Eyed Man
  4. Three Sided Coin
  5. I Trap You
  6. All Humans Too Late
  7. Hold Your Own
  8. Lessons
  9. Firesmoke
  10. Holy Elixir
  11. People's Faces