Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


THE LIVING END (2019 reissue)

music on vinyl

limited (1000 only) 180g red 2lp

Released: 13th Sep 2019


The Living End is a Hüsker Dü live album recorded at various venues in October 1987, but not released until 1994.

It spans the band’s entire recorded output, from “Data Control” off Land Speed Record, the band’s debut, to a healthy dose of songs from the band’s last studio album, Warehouse: Songs and Stories. There are also some unreleased tracks and a cover of the Ramones’ “Sheena Is A Punk Rocker.” guitarist Bob Mould and drummer Grant Hart handled the overwhelming share of songwriting duties in the band. Of interest is “Everytime,” a rare solo credit for bassist Greg Norton. The track listing is reflective of the band’s set lists. “New Day Rising” was a common choice to open shows. As explained in the liner notes, the band preferred to group like-minded songs into what they called “packs of three.” Examples of these “packs” include “Standing in the Rain” followed by “Back from Somewhere” and “Ice Cold Ice,” as well as “Terms of Psychic Warfare” followed by “Powerline” and “Books About UFOs”.

THE LIVING END (2019 reissue)


  1. New Day Rising
  2. Girl Who Lives On Heaven Hill
  3. Standing In The Rain
  4. Back From Somewhere
  5. Ice Cold Ice
  6. Everytime
  7. Friend, You’ve Got To Fall
  8. She Floated Away
  9. From The Gut
  10. Target
  11. It’s Not Funny Anymore
  12. Hardly Getting Over It
  13. Terms Of Psychic Warfare
  14. Powerline
  15. Books About UFO’s
  16. Divide And Conquer
  17. Keep Hanging On
  18. Celebrated Summer
  19. Now That You Know Me
  20. Ain’t No Water In The Well
  21. What’s Going On
  22. Data Control
  23. In A Free Land
  24. Sheena Is A Punk Rocker