Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Jemma Freeman and The Cosmic Something

Oh Really, What's That Then?

Trapped Animal Records


Released: 18th Oct 2019


lp + download

Released: 25th Oct 2019


Following the success of their first single ‘Helen Is A Reptile’, three-piece power trio Jemma Freeman and The Cosmic Something will release their debut album ‘ Oh Really, What’s That Then? As debut album titles go, Jemma Freeman and The Cosmic Something ’s ‘Oh Really, What’s That Then?’ invites you to ask just that question.

An introspective journey through psychedelic glam-rock nightmares, woozy flows of self-discovery and beguiling lyrics delivered with subtlety and intensity. Jemma is your guide in this strange country, illuminating a path for you. In reality, they’re as lost as the listener. In this hinterland, thoughts tumble on top of each other and the shadows cast by their images overwhelm. Hear a track in isolation and you might expose roots of its origins - from the exuberant T. Rex -Esque strings of ‘Black Rain’, to the snarling Hole like guitars of ‘Tasteless’ - but the archaeology of their sound is not so easily uncovered. ‘Oh Really, What’s That Then?’ paints a turbulent history and a doomed future. When an album opens with a distant primal scream, you know it's not going to be an easy ride. As the album’s last-gasp, ‘Tasteless’, slowly dissipates from cacophony to complete stillness - like the universe ending, all energy exhausted - you’ll feel the same. The journey is intense. Not that it’s all a trudging grind, there are moments of pure exhilarating pop joy along the way. Songs like ‘Keytar (I Was Busy)’ hiding the darkest lyrical themes in the brightest of melodies (just like all the best pop music does). Jemma says of the record: “I was trying to photograph the space between emotions and actions, feeling like an outsider, some of the songs are indirectly meant to demonstrate solidarity with others that identify with that.” Recorded over a year at South London’s Marketstall Recording studio (owned and run by band bass player Mark Estall), the album is the sound of a band growing out of one person’s imagination into something more. Initially, every part was written and performed by Jemma, but over time the sessions became collaborative. Hamilton Lee was brought in to play the drums and having worked together in several other bands with Jemma, they had pre-existing musical telepathy. Jemma and Mark became finely attuned to each others’ production ideas and the relationship between the three became symbiotic, intrinsic to the sound of the record. The Cosmic Something as a band was born in these early studio sessions, and their debut album “Oh Really, What’s That Then?” is this sonic psychedelic baby’s first steps. Praise for J emma Freeman and The Cosmic Something “Jemma’s solo material adds a fizzing energy and almost glam-stomp to proceedings, creating a sound that flips rapidly between lush guitar work and rapid fire energy, all topped by Jemma’s sonorous vocal, part Kate Jackson part PJ Harvey.” For The Rabbits // “ ‘Heaven On A Plate’ is a soaring slice of glitzy psych-rock. As Jemma’s sweeping vocals flow with an hypnotic majesty, eerie hooks underpin catchy melodies, taking your ears on a spacey sonic journey .” Get In Her Ears // “ Jemma Freeman & The Cosmic Something bring an artful mix of glam rock theatrics, spacious psych explorations and crunchy earl-PJ Harvey style alt rock .” Joyzine

Oh Really, What's That Then?


  1. Helen Is A Reptile
  2. Keytar (I Was Busy)
  3. Hard Times
  4. Black Rain
  5. What’s On Your Mind?
  6. Vines
  7. Kopenhagen
  8. Heaven On A Plate
  9. Count To Ten
  10. Distant Places
  11. Tasteless