Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Circa Waves

Sad Happy

Prolifica Inc


Released: 13th Mar 2020



Released: 13th Mar 2020


deluxe first pressing gold 2lp in gatefold sleeve (‘Happy’ LP) + download

Released: 13th Mar 2020


An album of infectious choruses and relatable refrains ‘Sad Happy’ is at once instantly recognisable and also another bold sonic leap forward for Circa Waves.

‘Sad Happy’ is formed of two diametrically distinctive sides – the first half of the record contains the Happy tracks, the latter the Sad tracks, thus creating a record that is certainly of its time. Brimming with infectious grooves, the ‘Happy’ half of this album is another bold slice of bright, life-affirming pop from the pen of Kieran Shudall, who is establishing himself as one of Britain’s most prolific young songwriters ‘Sad Happy’ cements the Liverpool four piece’s reputation as one of the UK’s most dynamic and exciting bands. FFO: Catfish & The Bottlemen, Blossoms, Swim Deep, Two Door Cinema Club. "Circa Waves deliver a stunning new album full of the contradictions that we deal with through life. They remind us that it’s perfectly normal to be Sad and Happy." 4.5/5 - Indie Is Not A Genre

Sad Happy


  1. Jacqueline
  2. Be Your Drug
  3. Move to San Francisco
  4. Wasted On You
  5. The Things We Knew Last Night
  6. Call Your Name
  7. Love You More
  8. Sad Happy
  9. Wake Up Call
  10. Sympathy
  11. Battered & Bruised
  12. Hope There’s a Heaven
  13. Train to Lime Street
  14. Birthday Cake