Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Gil Scott-Heron

We’re New Again – A Re-imagining by Makaya McCraven

XL Recordings

love record stores edition - Pink LP

Released: 5th Dec 2020



Released: 7th Feb 2020



Released: 7th Feb 2020


To mark the tenth anniversary of the release of ‘I’m New Here’, the thirteenth - and last - studio album from the legendary US musician, poet and author Gil Scott-Heron, XL Recordings has released this unique reinterpretation of the album by acclaimed US jazz musician Makaya McCraven.

This very much follows in the footsteps of Jamie xx’s highly acclaimed 2011 remix album ‘We’re New Here’. One of the most vital new voices in modern jazz, McCraven is described by the New York Times as a "Chicago-based drummer, producer and beat maker, [who] has quietly become one of the best arguments for jazz’s vitality".

We’re New Again – A Re-imagining by Makaya McCraven


  1. Special Tribute (Broken Home pt. 1)
  2. I'm New Here
  3. Running
  4. Blessed Parents
  5. New York is Killing Me
  6. The Patch (Broken Home pt. 2)
  7. People of the Light
  8. Being Blessed
  9. Where Did the Night Go
  10. Lily Scott (Broken Home pt. 3)
  11. I'll Take Care of You
  12. I've Been Me
  13. This Can't Be Real
  14. Piano Player
  15. The Crutch
  16. Guided (Broken Home pt. 4)
  17. Certain Bad Things
  18. Me and the Devil