Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Matthew Tavares and Leland Whitty


mr bongo

limited indies exclusive transparent red 2lp + download

Released: 20th Mar 2020



Released: 20th Mar 2020


2lp + download

Released: 20th Mar 2020


the badbadnotgood co-founders’ new extracurricular project is a vivacious tableau of modern jazz that seamlessly shifts between moods with elegance & technical aplomb in spades.

Tavares is on piano & guitar, Whitty on saxophone & flute. The rhythm section of Julian anderson-Bowes on bass & Matthew Chalmers on drums completes the players. They make an impressive collective & are performing at the peak of their powers. Conceptually, the album is a canvas for a combination of composition & group free-form improvisation. The outcome is a sublime melting pot of modern jazz, impressionist classical music & Arthur Verocai-esque arrangements. As a coherent body of work, it draws the listener in with waves of intensity & crescendos that release back into tranquillity. There is also rawness & honesty to the music, which makes it feel like an intensely personal & intimate offering.



  1. Through the Looking Glass
  2. Woah
  3. Blue
  4. Symbols of Transformation
  5. visions of You
  6. Eyes
  7. Awakenings
  8. Heat Of The Moon
  9. Black Magic
  10. Symbols of Transformation II
  11. Living Water Assembly