Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Buffalo (10 year anniversary edition)

Memphis Industries

very limited (250 only) 180g ocean blue lp + download

Released: 5th Jun 2020


out of stock

"New Zealand's finest purveyors of psychedelic Pop" **** The Times "Undislodgable melodies.

A lovely album" **** The Sunday Times "Ingenuous pop" **** The Independent 2020 marks a decade since The Phoenix Foundation’s “Buffalo” was born. Featuring a number of the New Zealand group’s most enduring songs, from the gently psychedelic drift of opener “Eventually”, the idiosyncratic title track (once covered by Lorde, pop pickers!), the sugar-sweet “Flock Of Hearts”, pidgin-German “Bitte Bitte” to the soaring melancholy swell of closing tracks “Wonton” and “Golden Ship” it’s a record that has well and truly stood the test of time. Featuring guest appearances from fellow musical travellers Connan Mockasin and Lawrence Arabia, ‘Buffalo’ took the band on quite a journey. Following its release in New Zealand in April 2010, the album found a home on one of the UK’s finest indie labels Memphis Industries. Hugely acclaimed on its European release, The Phoenix Foundation headed over to these shores for a run of sold out shows, appearances on TV in the UK and Germany, including a coveted slot on ‘Later… with Jools’, and saw them find a multitude of new fans including, but not limited to a certain Jarvis Cocker.

Buffalo (10 year anniversary edition)


  1. Eventually
  2. Buffalo
  3. Flock of Hearts
  4. Pot
  5. Bitte Bitte
  6. Skeleton
  7. Orange & Mango
  8. Bailey’s Beach
  9. Wonton
  10. Golden Ship
  11. Danzig Bro (bonus cd)
  12. One Million Rainbows (bonus cd)
  13. Anything Everything Done (bonus cd)
  14. Pavlov’s Pavlova (bonus cd)
  15. Wave Machine (bonus cd)
  16. Myre Bucolic (bonus cd)
  17. Easter (bonus cd)