Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Dr. Dre

The Chronic

death row

deluxe heavyweight 2LP

Released: 10th May 2020


out of stock

Dr Dre’s solo rap career began like a yarn out of a mob epic: coercion, conspiracy, guns strategically placed near jacuzzis.

'In 1992, Dr. Dre was the biggest producer in hip-hop music, a pioneer drawing comparisons to Quincy Jones and Phil Spector; he was also its most unemployable one. Death Row was ostensibly up and running with a master architect at the helm, but the young label needed a big victory upon which to build its empire. 'The Chronic' became that cornerstone achievement, kicking off a historic four-year run that ended with the death of the label’s other major star, Tupac Shakur. In that time, Dre established himself as not just a peerless producer but a visionary. His debut album, 1992’s The Chronic is an imaginative crusade with half-truths so vibrant they blurred the lines of what was real. 'The Chronic' lives on as a timeless show of strength when the stakes couldn’t have been higher, and as the herald of a tectonic shift in rap. Without it, or Dre, there is no Game, no YG, no Kendrick Lamar or To Pimp a Butterfly, no Nipsey Hussle. Dre gave shape to L.A.’s present and future. His dispatch from inside a city in transition not only furthered its sense of place in the world beyond but helped affect the place it was becoming.' Pitchfork review.

The Chronic


  1. The Chronic (Intro)
  2. Fuck Wit Dre Day (And Everybody's Celebratin')
  3. Let Me Ride
  4. The Day The Niggaz Took Over
  5. Nuthin' but a G Thang
  6. Deeez Nuuuts
  7. Lil' Ghetto Boy
  8. A Nigga Witta Gun
  9. Rat-Tat-Tat-Tat
  10. The $20 Sack Pyramid
  11. Lyrical Gangbang
  12. High Powered
  13. The Doctor's Office
  14. Stranded on Death Row
  15. The Roach (The Chronic Outro)
  16. Bitches Ain't Shit