Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

sigur ros

( ) (2020 reissue)


2lp in die cut sleeve

Released: 2nd Oct 2020


( ) - Sigur Rós’s celebrated third album, and for many people - especially in US where it remains their biggest selling work - the most quintessentially “Sigur Rós” record of their career to date.

It is the only album where Jónsi sings entirely in the wordless lyrics of Hopelandic. A desire to elide meaning and allow the listener to bring their own interpretation to the music, extends to the eight songs, all of which are nameless. The music is broadly divided into two halves, divided by a critical 36 seconds of silence. The first half of the album being lighter and more optimistic, and the second half bleaker and more melancholic, culminating in the thundering climax of Untitled #8, the closing song of every Sigur Rós show since the song was written in 2000. ( ) was recorded at the band’s own studio Sundlaugin, in Mosfellsbær outside Reykjavik, in 2002, co-produced by the band with Ken Thomas, who also helmed their break through second album, Agætis Byrjun. Completely out of print, the vinyl album now comes in its full Grammy-nominated artwork, including die-cut sleeve and spot UV varnish inner bags.

( ) (2020 reissue)

  1. Untitled 1 (Vaka)
  2. Untitled 2 (Fyrsta)
  3. Untitled 3 (Samskeyti)
  4. Untitled 4 (Njósnavélin)
  5. Untitled 5 (Álafoss)
  6. Untitled 6 (E-Bow)
  7. Untitled 7 (Daudalagid)
  8. Untitled 8 (Popplagid)