Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

A Grape Dope

Arthur King Presents A Grape Dope: Backyard Bangers

Dangerbird Records

lp (pre-order)

Expected Release: 7th Aug 2020


A Grape Dope is the moniker of John Herndon, drummer, music producer, and founding member of the iconic musical group Tortoise.

His discography includes recordings with Isotope 217, Five Style, Starlicker, Exploding Star Orchestra, Pulsar Quartet, Poster Children, and more. He is a longtime visual artist with a body of work that includes painting, illustration, embroidery, tattooing, collage, and hand painted t-shirts. John will have his first solo show at the highly regarded Los Angeles gallery NOH / WAVE this summer. Herndon's debut solo album, Arthur King Presents A Grape Dope: Backyard Bangers, is the amalgamation of many eclectic influences. It is a record impossible to tag with any one genre yet assured in its execution. Backyard Bangers consolidates blasts of experimental hip hop beats, grinding lo-fi house grooves, clattering noise passages, and even subdued synth ambience into a concise and colorful 32 minute journey. Predominantly constructed in a Northeast Los Angeles garage, the album is rounded out with musical contributions by celebrated artist Travis Millard (The Other Fudge) and rare vocals from Mr. Herndon himself. Backyard Bangers is being released as an installment in Dangerbird Records' Arthur King Presents experimental album series.

Arthur King Presents A Grape Dope: Backyard Bangers


  1. Puppet Clubbing
  2. A Glorious Day
  3. Who Aren’t You?
  4. Duck Duck
  5. Rats It’s Up
  6. Backyard Banger
  7. Rainbo Locals
  8. New Age Cave Age
  9. You Don’t Have To
  10. Nod to the Peanuts