Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

throwing muses

sun racket (monochrome edition)


limited indies only white lp + monochrome sleeve (pre-order)

Expected Release: 27th Nov 2020


the eminent indie rockers have created a masterfully dynamic record of swampy grunge and tender art-pop; we can almost forgive them for the 7-year wait.

The follow-up to 2013’s ‘Purgatory/Paradise’ is an outpouring of modal guitars, reverbed shapes, echoey drums and driving bass set behind Kristin Hersh’s well-thumbed notebook of storylines. A ten-song opus of suitably wrought tales set against a wall of sound that’s at once calm and ethereal before building into glorious cacophonous crescendos. “All [sun racket] asked of us was to co-mingle two completely disparate sonic vocabularies: one heavy noise, the other delicate music box.” - Kristin Hersh. “Sun Racket is something special, hallucinatory and primal without feeling forced and laboured” 4/5 – the arts desk.

sun racket (monochrome edition)


  1. Dark Blue
  2. Bywater
  3. Maria Laguna
  4. Bo Diddley Bridge
  5. Milk At Mcdonald’s
  6. Upstairs Dan
  7. St Charles
  8. Frosting
  9. Kay Catherine
  10. Sue's