Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

The Mountain Goats

Songs for Pierre Chuvin


limited indies only pink & white swirl lp + download

Released: 9th Apr 2021


lp + download

Released: 9th Apr 2021



Released: 26th Mar 2021


out of stock

Returning to his roots, john darnielle cracked out a compelling set of acoustic folk-rock zingers, soaked in the lo-fi lustre of the same boombox that launched his career.

A surprise cassette released April 2020, Songs for Pierre Chuvin is the Mountain Goats’ first all-boombox album since 2002’s All Hail West Texas. After selling over 4000 cassettes in a matter of minutes, the avid Mountain Goats fanbase has demanded more and merge records were happy to acquiesce! Praise for Songs for Pierre Chuvin: “Recording on the same boombox that launched his career, John Darnielle returns to his lo-fi roots for an album of alienation, ancient pagans, and making it through the year together.” Pitchfork “Full of images fit for these dismal times and slogans suited to surviving them, Pierre Chuvin is an inspiring reminder of how much each of us has left to learn.” NPR “[Songs for Pierre Chuvin] can be used to escape the present emergency—or, if the listener so chooses, to better understand it.” The Atlantic “Songs for Pierre Chuvin is exactly what we’ve come to expect: big-hearted songs full of warmth and smarts, custom-built to comfort and to inspire.” Bandcamp


Phoebe says "Last years surprise release from Mountain Goats is back this week on swirly pink vinyl and if you like lo-fi meanderings into history recorded on a boom box, you should probably check it out!"

Songs for Pierre Chuvin

  1. Aulon Raid
  2. Until Olympius Returns
  3. Last Gasp at Calama
  4. For the Snakes
  5. The Wooded Hills Along the Black Sea
  6. January 31, 438
  7. Hopeful Assassins of Zeno
  8. Their Gods Do Not Have
  9. Surgeons
  10. Going to Lebanon 2
  11. Exegetic Chains