Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Bachelor (Jay Som + Palehound)

Doomin’ Sun

Lucky Number

limited transparent red lp

Released: 28th May 2021


dinked 110 - limited (400 only) numbered* “SUN” Red & Orange Galaxy LP* + Bonus Track Flexi Disc* + download (* Exclusive to Dinked Edition)

Released: 28th May 2021


This is a record we’ll be enthusing about for years! a collection that slips between moods with ease & showcases their lyrical prowess – we could snuggle up to these treacly guitars & vocal harmonies at the faintest drop of a hat.

Bachelor, the new project from Melina Duterte (Jay Som) and Ellen Kempner (Palehound), is not a band, it’s a friend-ship. After being mutual fans for years, they finally met when sharing the bill at a show in Sacramento in 2017. Keeping in touch over text and Instagram posts, Duterte and Kempner started recording together for fun in 2018, resulting with what would become "Sand Angel", the seductive slow-burner that convinced the pair to write an album together. Reconvening in January 2020, the duo packed the entirety of Duterte’s recording equipment into two cars and headed to a rental house in Topanga, CA. In this space Kempner and Duterte hybridized their individual song-writing talents, producing a collection that slips between moods with ease and showcases their lyrical prowess. Arriving with almost no songs written and no solid plan, they finished the 10 songs that make up Doomin’ Sun after two short weeks. That much work in so little time may sound exhausting, but it wasn’t, it was blissful and freeing. There was a lot of pain that went into the record, especially around themes of queerness and climate change inspired by the red skies and wildfires subsuming Australia at the time. However, when the duo did shed tears during the creative process, they weren’t tears of sadness, they were tears of laughter. When Kempner and Duterte look back on those weeks, what they remember first is shortness of breath and the inability to track vocal takes without falling to the floor howling. They couldn’t remember a time they’d ever been so delirious with creativity, so overwhelmed with joy.


Doomin’ Sun


  1. Back of My Hand
  2. Sand Angel
  3. Stay in the Car
  4. Went Out Without You
  5. Spin Out
  6. Anything at All
  7. Moon
  8. Sick of Spiraling
  9. Aurora
  10. Doomin’ Sun

Limited dinked exclusive flexi-disc:

1. I See it now

dinked edition 110

- “SUN” Red & Orange Galaxy Vinyl *

- Bonus Track Flexi Disc - “I See It Now” *

- Numbered Edition *

- Limited pressing of 400 *

* Exclusive to Dinked Edition