Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


What’s going on (Original Detroit Mix) (2021 reissue)

Universal Music / Lawson Ent.

limited japanese import lp + obi strip

Released: 6th Aug 2021


out of stock

We are pleased to announce the reissue of the fantastic "WHAT'S GOING ON" (ORIGINAL DETORIT MIX), which was released in 2001 as a double CD as a DELUX EDITION including unreleased material and became a hot topic among not only soul lovers but also many music listeners.

There was a source that had been mastered in Detroit, MOTOWN's home base, before the original source (which was mastered in Los Angeles on May 6, 1971) that is currently available in the market. The arrangement is so raw and rough that it seems to have vacuum-packed the atmosphere of the studio and the world at the time of recording, and the more you listen to this album, the more you will be amazed. If you have the original, or even if you don't, please compare and see which one you prefer.

What’s going on (Original Detroit Mix) (2021 reissue)


  1. What's Going On (Detroit Mix)
  2. What's Happening Brother (Detroit Mix)
  3. Flyin' High (In The Friendly Sky)
  4. Save The Children (Detroit Mix)
  5. God Is Love (Detroit Mix)
  6. Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)
  7. Right On (Detroit Mix)
  8. Wholy Holy (Detroit Mix)
  9. Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)