Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Rownderbowt (rsd 21)

music on vinyl

Record Store Day 2021 - boxset - numbered 180g black & white marble 4LP (1500 only)

Released: 17th Jul 2021


Chapterhouse was a British shoegaze band of the early 1990s, originally from Reading, England.

Formed in 1987 by Andrew Sherriff and Stephen Patman, the band began performing alongside Spacemen 3. The Rownderbowt compilation, a highly-coveted 4-LP set features their biggest hits, rare tracks, various B-sides, demos and a remix of “We Are Beautiful” by Spooky. Rownderbowt was originally released on cd-only by Dedicated in 1996 and serves as a reminder to Chapterhouse fans about what the band might eventually do, should it decide to record again. Patman quotes: “We were writing a lot of material in the lead in to splitting up, and we ended up with a lot of songs which the label was not releasing because they wanted to have a hit single, and we were just not that type of band. And a lot of that ended up on Rownderbowt, and that represents that side of us more.” Sherriff sees some of those demos and unreleased tracks as a blueprint for where Chapterhouse not only might have once gone, but could possibly go one day in the future.. Rownderbowt turns 25 in 2021. This year on Record Store Day, Music on Vinyl in cooperation with Sony Music release the album on vinyl for the first time; it’s a limited 25th anniversary edition on black & white marbled vinyl. This 4-LP set is placed in a deluxe slip-case with spot-varnish. The package includes an insert with pictures and liner notes.

Rownderbowt (rsd 21)


  1. Falling Down
  2. Sixteen Years
  3. Something More
  4. Satin Safe
  5. Rain
  6. Pearl
  7. Mesmerise
  8. She’s A Vision
  9. We Are The Beautiful
  10. Frost
  11. For What It’s Worth
  12. Breather
  13. Don’t Look Now
  14. There’s Still Life
  15. Then We’ll Rise
  16. In My Arms
  17. Losing Touch With My Mind
  18. Ecstasy Ii
  19. Dream On (Demo)
  20. Until You Try (Demo)
  21. Kane (Demo)
  22. More Than I Can Take (Demo)
  23. Brighter (Demo)
  24. Feel (Demo)
  25. Don’t Look Now (Sitar Trance Mix)
  26. We Are The Beautiful (Spooky’s Ugly As Sin Mix)
  27. Picnic
  28. Die, Die, Die