Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Manhattan Stories (rsd 21)


Record Store Day 2021 - 180g 2lp + extensive booklet (3000 only)

Released: 17th Jul 2021


Back by popular demand, the critically acclaimed 2014 Resonance release, Manhattan Stories, by tenor saxophone icon Charles Lloyd is available once again as a deluxe, limited-edition (of 3,000 copies worldwide) 180gram 2-LP 2nd pressing newly remastered by renowned engineer Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio, cut at 33 1/3 RPM and pressed by Record Technology Inc.

(RTI). This previously unissued album features guitarist Gábor Szábo, bassist Ron Carter and drummer Pete La Roca captured live in 1965 at Judson Hall and Slugs in New York City. The extensive booklet includes essays by the late, esteemed music critic Stanley Crouch, along with Willard Jenkins, Don Heckman and Michael Cuscuna; plus rare photos by Hank Parker, Francis Wolff, Lee Tanner and Raymond Ross. The first re-pressing of 2014’s much sought after vinyl release Features three jazz giants with Charles Lloyd: Gabor Szábo, Ron Carter and Pete La Roca Includes an extensive booklet with rare photos by Hank Parker, Francis Wolff and others Essays by Stanley Crouch, Willard Jenkins, Don Heckman and Michael Cuscuna

Manhattan Stories (rsd 21)


  1. Sweet Georgia Bright (17:49)
  2. How Can I Tell You (11:57)
  3. Lady Gabor (12:50)
  4. Slugs’ Blues (12:57)
  5. Lady Gabor (13:53)
  6. Dream Weaver (15:25)