Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


BBC Sessions 1982-1984 (rsd 21)


Record Store Day 2021 - smoky 2LP

Released: 17th Jul 2021
Available: 23rd Jul 2021 20:00


Available from Saturday 17th July 8am. Over the counter only initially. Remaining stock online Friday 23rd July, 8pm.

Strictly 1 per customer. 1st come, 1st served (no preorders / reservations)

BBC Sessions 1982-1984 features three BBC sessions which have never been available physically before.

Two of the sessions were with admired radio broadcaster John Peel. Includes early versions of the singles ‘Walk Away’ and ‘No Time To Cry’ that would end up on their debut ‘First And Last And Always’. Includes covers of The Stooges ‘1969’, Dolly Parton’s ‘Jolene’ & Hot Chocolate’s ‘Emma’. This title charts their earliest days as an indie band in 1982 to the time they signed to Warner Records in 1984. It will all be available on Smoky vinyl.

BBC Sessions 1982-1984 (rsd 21)


  1. John Peel Session 1982:
  2. 1969, 2. Alice, 3. Good Things, 4. Floor Show
  3. David “Kid” Jensen Session 1983:
  4. Heartland, 2. Jolene, 3. Valentine, 4. Burn
  5. John Peel Session 1984:
  6. Walk Away, 2. Poison Door, 3. No Time To Cry, 4. Emma