Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Donna Summer

I'm A Rainbow - Recovered and Recoloured

Driven By The Music

limited 180g clear 2lp

Released: 21st Jan 2022

£26.99 £13.49

CD in book

Released: 3rd Dec 2021

£19.99 £7.98

out of stock

At the time that the album was being recorded, the musical landscape had changed and production techniques were developing further Geffen also wanted a more R&B influenced album, despite the album having a more R&B feel than ‘The Wanderer’ had done.

The songs and their lyrical content were very strong and Donna’s voice had never sounded better, which was always a tough comparison against previous albums. A decision was taken by the label to withdraw ‘I’M A RAINBOW’ just prior to its release David Geffen then brought in Quincy Jones to produce the next new album 1982 ’s ‘Donna Summer’. ‘I’M A RAINBOW’ was eventually issued in 1996 as an 18 track CD, without the usual fanfare that heralded a Donna Summer album.

Fast forward 40 years and ‘I’M A RAINBOW’ receives a fresh coat of paint, giving credence to the songs’ great lyrics and compositions that they richly deserved at the time. ‘I’M A RAINBOW RECOVERED RECOLOURED’ has been slimmed down to a compact 10 track album and completely re imagined by a host of international producers, from North AND South America, Europe and Scandinavia Junior Vasquez Le Flex Figo Sound Jean Tonique Ladies On Mars and Oliver Nelson who has just signed to Atlantic Records have all added their touch. The album now has a thread running through it, with a sequence that sees the album open with the beautiful title track and builds throughout the album through soul and dance, ending with the high octane ‘girl power’ statement track,track,‘Leave Me Alone [Ladies On Mars ‘ Remix]’


I'm A Rainbow - Recovered and Recoloured



  1. I'm A Rainbow [Junior’s Shiny Rainbow Edit] 4:13
  2. I Believe (In You) (duet with Joe “Bean” Esposito) [Figo Sound Version] 4:45
  3. Back Where You Belong [Jean Tonique Remix] 4:18
  4. You To Me [Oliver Nelson Remix] 3:36
  5. Don't Cry For Me Argentina [Ladies On Mars ‘Buenos Aires’ Remix] 5:34
  6. Sweet Emotion [Le Flex Remix] 3:43
  7. Brooklyn [Ladies On Mars ‘Child Of Rhythm’ Remix] 4:42
  8. Romeo [Ladies On Mars ‘Luv-NRG’ Remix] 3:38
  9. Highway Runner [Ladies On Mars ‘Street Race’ Remix] 3:09
  10. Leave Me Alone [Ladies On Mars ‘Independence’ Remix] 4:13
  11. Brooklyn [Ladies On Mars ‘Child Of Rhythm’ Remix – Radio Edit] 3:36
  12. I Believe (In You) (duet with Joe “Bean” Esposito) [Figo Sound Radio Version] 3:00
  13. Highway Runner [Ladies On Mars ‘Street Race’ Extended Remix] 6:17
  14. Brooklyn [Ladies On Mars ‘Child Of Rhythm’ Extended Remix] 6:52
  15. Romeo [Ladies On Mars ‘Luv-NRG’ Extended Remix] 6:46