other titles...

Nightmares On Wax

Late Night Tales (2024 Reissue)

180g 2LP with art print + download for the unmixed tracks and original DJ mix - £25.99 | Pre Order
A 2024 reissue of his seminal Late Night Tales compilation.
Nightmares On Wax

Smokers Delight

2lp (repress) - £24.99
Shout Out! To Freedom…
  1. Shout Out! (Intro)
  2. Imagineering
  3. Creator SOS
  4. 3D Warrior
  5. Miami 80
  6. GTP Call
  7. Wikid Satellites
  8. Breathe In
  9. To Freedom (Interlude)
  10. Wonder
  11. Own Me
  12. Widyabad
  13. Isolated
  14. Trillion
  15. Up To Us

Nightmares On Wax

Shout Out! To Freedom…

Warp Records
  • CD in 6 panel digipak

    Released: 29th Oct 2021


George Evelyn returns in introspective form, whilst still harbouring that unique blend of electronica, jazz, hip-hop, techno, dub, funk and soul that we all know and love.

Shout Out! To Freedom… is the new album from Nightmares on Wax featuring Shabaka Hutchings, Greentea Peng, Haile Supreme, Mara TK, Sabrina Mahfouz + Pip Millett.

Although 9 albums in, he may have only just truly stepped into his own groove. Lockdown forced a change of pace and offered some time for meaningful reflection and introspection. “I've been gigging non-stop for 10 years,” he says. “And that experience has been beautiful but it also drained me emotionally.”


He began to reassess some things. “As a creative you're always questioning everything,” he says. “So having the time and the space has meant that I could do a proper deep dive into this stuff. So it was all about this journey of going back to myself, and realising being at home with my wife and my daughter that I’ve not really been here properly. It’s like I've just woken back up to what I actually have - and it's already here.”


“I wanted to ask: what is freedom?” he says. “Everybody's got a different idea of it, everybody's got a different concept of it. I realised that internally, we all want to be free of our shit and it doesn't matter what it is. Everybody wants to be free of something. So there are shout outs to freedom in each song. They're all different cries and different calls but there's a coherent feeling through it.”


When all the guest’s contributions were complete and the album was meticulously assembled to what we hear now, Evelyn picked up one last powerful and potent theme that came oozing out of the grooves. “I think it's the story of the human spirit,” he says.