Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Jamire Williams

But Only After You Have Suffered

International Anthem Recording

limited indies only metallic silver lp

Released: 12th Nov 2021



Released: 12th Nov 2021



Released: 12th Nov 2021


out of stock

Composer, producer, percussionist Jamire Williams applies sound collage practice to modern jazz composition, beat production, MC/vocalist features, and his uniquely impressionistic drumming style to make the deeply spiritual But Only After You Have Suffered – an album as akin to minimalist painting as an art-house film soundtrack or a classic hip-hop mixtape.

"Williams shows himself to be an inspired crafter of sound." – Pitchfork A creative collaborator of Solange Knowles and a first-call drummer for the likes of Jeff Parker, Blood Orange & Moses Sumney, on his new album Williams brings together artists from his hometown of Houston (vocalists Corey King, Lisa E. Harris, Fat Tony, Jawwaad Taylor), those he became close to over several years living in LA (Sam Gendel, Zeroh, Mic Holden, Josh Johnson, fellow International Anthem artist Carlos Niño), and other creative partners from his life-long Journey in sound (Chassol, Svet, Kenneth Whalum). “This is the album I’ve always wanted to make.”

But Only After You Have Suffered

  1. Hands Up
  2. Bow (feat. Corey King)
  3. gly (feat. Mic Holden)
  4. Just Hold On
  5. Take Time, Look Up (Jawwaad Speaks)
  6. Safe Travels (feat. Fat Tony & Zeroh)
  7. C'est Un Mot
  8. For The Youth (feat. Corey King)
  9. Pause In His Presence (feat. Lisa E. Harris & Sam Gendel)
  10. no One Knows
  11. When It Gets Dark (feat. Kenneth Whalum)
  12. And Then The Anointing Fell