Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.




Digipak CD

Released: 26th Nov 2021


Tennessee Ernie Ford’s acoustic albums: simple clarity… natural depth.

 Tennessee Ernie Ford’s two trio albums: 'Country Hits…Feelin’ Blue’ (1964) and ‘Ernie Sings & Glen Picks’ (1975) paired here by Bear Family Records® for the first time in any format.  An early template for the ‘unplugged’ album… decades before that recording technique became a trend in popular music.  Featured musicians: guitarist extraordinaire Billy Strange and upright bassist John Moshe (1964), and country and pop crossover superstar/guitarist/harmony singer Glen Campbell and double bassist Chuck Domanico (1975). To many in the know these are the finest and rarest LP releases of secular music from the singer’s long career, with a voice that was well‐worn yet enduring.  Extensive liner notes by East Tennessean, Dr. Ted Olson, Professor of Appalachian Studies at East Tennessee State University in Johnson City.  The full‐color booklet contains previously unseen photos from the recording sessions and a session discography. In 2015 Bear Family Records® collected Ford’s 78 RPM releases along with his 1950s LPs of secular music in the 5‐CD boxed set ‘Tennessee Ernie Ford: Portrait of an American Singer, 1949‐1960’ (BCD17332). That set, though, did not incorporate any of Ford’s recordings released after 1960. Ford is most often remembered today for his early recordings. In 1955, the singer scored a massive national crossover hit with his finger‐snapped rendition of Sixteen Tons. He remained a prolific recording artist through the early 1980s. Bear Family’s release of this single‐CD featuring two trio albums presents recordings Ford himself would have wanted to be considered in any discussions about his legacy. ‘Country Hits…Feelin’ Blue’ and ‘Ernie Sings & Glen Picks’ document Ford at his best! Released in 1964, ‘Country Hits…Feelin’ Blue’ was remarkably stripped‐ down and unassuming. Among the musicians were two masters on their own instruments: guitarist extraordinaire Billy Strange and upright bassist John Mosher. They entered the recording studio, and the resulting album sustained its formula of simple directness from start to finish: twelve country standards cut in six hours over two days with three guys. No overdubs, no re‐do’s… one take for each song, with Ford singing over Strange’s understated, nimble arrangements. Eleven years later, the 1964 session served as a template for Ford’s last great album concept…. which was not a copycat project. Featuring ten country standards (with the inclusion of three progressive country songs by Kris Kristofferson), ‘Ernie Sings & Glen Picks’ matched Ford’s vocals to inspired accompaniment by country and pop crossover superstar and guitarist/harmony singer Glen Campbell as well as acoustic bassist Chuck Domanico. The recordings were rich and textured precisely because the co‐ headliners, Ford and Campbell brought to the studio radically different experiences and sensibilities. Simple clarity…natural depth…an elaboration of two artists in unison. Ford’s two classic trio albums for Capitol, now properly recognized on a Bear Family Records® single‐CD pairing, provide compelling evidence to support critic Stephen Thomas Erlewine’s claim that Ford was an ‘American roots pop pioneer.’



  1. Try Me One More Time
  2. No Letter Today
  3. Born To Lose
  4. Don't Rob Another Man's Castle
  5. There'll Be No Teardrops Tonight
  6. I Don't Hurt Anymore
  7. Worried Mind
  8. No One Will Ever Know
  9. Funny How Time Slips Away
  10. Sweet Dreams
  11. Tears On My Pillow
  12. May You Never Be Alone
  13. Trouble In Mind
  14. (I'd Be) A Legend In Time
  15. Here Comes My Baby Back Again
  16. There Goes My Everything
  17. She Called Me Baby
  18. I Gotta Have My Baby Back
  19. Nobody Wins
  20. Loving Her Was Easier
  21. I Really Don't Want To Know
  22. For The Good Times