Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


We Are There

fire records

limited indies only orange lp + download (pre-order)

Expected Release: 18th Feb 2022


lp + download (pre-order)

Expected Release: 18th Feb 2022


cd (pre-order)

Expected Release: 18th Feb 2022


Through the hazy daze of a smoky folk opus, Modern Studies craft rich soundtracks, stuttering Super-8 sketches from a washed-out world of melancholy, hand-tinted and tantalising.

Lullaby couplets blossom into gorgeous chamber pop melodies, the drama unfolding behind Emily Scott’s plaintive vocal; part Julie London, part Sandy Denny, a little bit Kate Bush, with a hushed sigh of Joni. Sweeping strings carry them into unchartered terrain on their new album ‘We Are Here’, flying high above their psych-folk roots, it’s an epic journey that’s exquisitely delivered, transcending categories, nodding to Brubeck, Low, Talk Talk, Jim O’Rourke and Pentangle, making music that is ready to cross over in these modern times with songs of substance. “Sensitive, smart, inventive, cultured, brimming with complex ideas” Record Collector “There’s a charm within Modern Studies’ DNA which makes them, without fanfare or clamour, one of today’s most mesmerising outfits.” Prog Magazine

We Are There



  1. Sink Into
  2. Light a Fire
  3. Comfort Me
  4. Two Swimmers
  5. Wild Ocean
  6. Open Face
  7. Won't Be Long
  8. Mothlight
  9. Do You Wanna
  10. Winter Springs