Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

The March Violets

Big Soul Kiss - The BBC Recordings (2022 reissue)


limited citrine yellow 2lp

Released: 23rd Sep 2022


Twenty-three tracks recorded for John Peel and others – including nine unreleased songs.

From Leeds, label-mates of Sisters of Mercy, they issued six singles & a compilation. Topped the indie charts, with Snake Dance, Deep and Walk into the Sun. THE MARCH VIOLETS came out of Leeds in the early 80’s, initially as label- mates of Sisters of Mercy. Releasing six singles, they were a constant presence at the heights of the UK indie charts. They didn’t get around to recording an album – their only long-players, both in the UK and USA, were singles compilations. They eventually signed to a major and were groomed for a USA breakthrough, but found they were asked to make too many compromises. Thankfully, their career was well-documented by the BBC recording six sessions – three for John Peel, and one each with Kid Jensen, Janice Long and Richard Skinner. Chronicling their development from 1982 to 1986 with lead singers Simon, Rosie and Cleo, these sessions include nine unreleased songs and alternate versions of their indie hits. Here is the unheard history of The March Violets.

Big Soul Kiss - The BBC Recordings (2022 reissue)

  1. Radiant Boys
  2. Steam
  3. 1 2 I Love You
  4. Grooving In Green
  5. Crow Baby
  6. The Undertow
  7. Strange Head
  8. Slow Drip Lizard
  9. Walk Into The Sun
  10. Deep
  11. Kill The Delight
  12. Big Soul Kiss
  13. Lights Go Out
  14. Love Hit
  15. Don’t Take It Lightly
  16. Electric Shades
  17. The Face Of The Dragonfly
  18. Snake Dance
  19. Deep
  20. High Times
  21. Close To The Heart
  22. South Country
  23. Avalanche Of Love - Recorded for the BBC between 1982 – 1986