Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

The Clash

Combat Rock / The People’s Hall

sony music

limited 180g 3lp - 1 per customer

Released: 20th May 2022


limited 2cd - 1 per customer

Released: 20th May 2022


a special edition of the legendary record, which couples their glorious final album with 12 additional tracks.

Having returned to London following their pivotal 17-show residency at New York’s Bond’s Casino in 1981, the band rehearsed and recorded at The People’s Hall in the squatted Republic of Frestonia near Latimer Road in London and from there they embarked on a tour of the East and South East Asia, during which the album sleeve image was captured by Pennie Smith in Thailand. The tracks on ‘The People’s Hall’ chart the period from what was their last single Radio Clash right up to the release of Combat Rock, including unheard, rare and early versions of tracks. The disc highlights a new version of ‘Know Your Rights’ which was recorded at The People’s Hall on the Rolling Stones Mobile Studio, and the previously unreleased instrumental ‘He Who Dares Or Is Tired’. Other notable tracks include ‘Futura 2000’, an unreleased original mix of ‘The Escapades of Futura 2000’, Mikey Dread’s ‘Radio One’, and the outtakes ‘The Fulham Connection’, previously known as ‘The Beautiful People Are Ugly Too’ as well as ‘Idle in Kangaroo Court’.

Combat Rock / The People’s Hall


‘Combat Rock’

1.           ‘Know Your Rights’

2.           ‘Car Jamming’

3.           ‘Should I Stay Or Should I Go’

4.           ‘Rock The Casbah’

5.           ‘Red Angel Dragnet’

6.           ‘Straight To Hell’

7.           ‘Overpowered By Funk’

8.           ‘Atom Tan’

9.           ‘Sean Flynn’

10.           ‘Ghetto Defendant’

11.           ‘Inoculated City’

12.           ‘Death Is A Star’

‘The People’s Hall’

1.           ‘Outside Bonds’

2.           ‘Radio Clash’

3.           ‘Futura 2000’

4.           ‘First Night Back In London’

5.           ‘Radio One’ - Mikey Dread

6.           ‘He Who Dares Or Is Tired’

7.           ‘Long Time Jerk’

8.           ‘The Fulham Connection’

9.           ‘Midnight To Stevens’

10.           ‘Sean Flynn’

11.          ‘Idle In Kangaroo Court’

12.          ‘Know Your Rights’