Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Josef K

the only fun in town (2022 repress)

les disques du crepuscule

very limited 180g 2lp w/ bonus tracks in gatefold (500 only)

Released: 1st Oct 2022


the influential debut album by iconic Scottish guitar group Josef K, originally released on Postcard Records in July 1981.

Speedily recorded in a small studio in Brussels, The Only Fun In Town was a defiantly abrasive, serrated long-player in the mould of the second Velvets album, Josef K having already shelved a more conventional recording. Sharp-edged pop singles abound – It’s Kinda Funny, Sorry for Laughing, Revelation – along with rattling Haig/Ross twin guitar classics such as Fun ‘n’ Frenzy, Heart of Song, Forever Drone and The Angle. The Only Fun In Town topped the independent charts on release and remains a canonical post-punk album. This remaster arrives housed in a handsome gatefold sleeve, and by way of bonus tracks also features several Postcard single A and B sides including Radio Drill Time and Chance Meeting. Side 4 features all four tracks from JoKay’s celebrated John Peel Session in June 1981, including Heaven Sent and The Missionary.

the only fun in town (2022 repress)


  1. Fun ‘n’ Frenzy
  2. Revelation
  3. Crazy To Exist
  4. It’s Kinda Funny
  5. The Angle
  6. Forever Drone
  7. Heart of Song
  8. 16 Years
  9. Citizens
  10. Sorry For Laughing
  11. Radio Drill Time
  12. Romance
  13. Chance Meeting
  14. Pictures
  15. Final Request
  16. The Missionary
  17. Heaven Sent
  18. Heart of Song
  19. Applebush