other titles...



  1. Out For Magic
  2. Baby Snakes
  3. Find Another Illusion
  4. Perpetuum Mobile
  5. Looking Glass
  6. Mercury's Rising
  7. Fearless
  8. Transparent Things
  9. Perpetuum Reprise

Death and Vanilla


fire records
  • limited indies only yellow lp + download

    Released: 17th Mar 2023

  • limited classic black lp + download

    Released: 17th Mar 2023

  • cd (pre-order)

    Expected Release: 17th Mar 2023


By osmosis their period of transition since 2019’s much darker ‘Are You A Dreamer?’ has hatched new eclectic electronica anthems riddled with melody lines, and layered for lush love.

Death and Vanilla return with ‘Flicker’, presenting their unique pop music that defies categorisation. Housed in a beautifully austere post-ironic de-constructed sleeve; ‘Flicker’ is a modern reflection on these difficult times. World crises notwithstanding, they return reborn, re-arranged and revitalised after assimilating dub reggae, the motorik spirals of Can, the modal meander of Philip Glass and The Cure’s dreamier pop sounds; plus the twice removed symphonic ambience of Spiritualized and Talking Heads under heavy manners from Brian Eno. Forming in Malmö, Sweden, Death And Vanilla gravitated towards vintage musical equipment; from vibraphone, organ and mellotron, to tremolo guitar and Moog synthesisers. Soaking up soundtracks from the 60s and 70s, listening to library music, kosmiche, French Ye-ye pop and 60s psych, Marleen Nilsson, Anders Hansson and Magnus Bodin were fashioned by the city’s austere industrial past and flat pack present, and all in the shadow of the Orsesund Bridge that links their dreamworld to mainland Europe and a darker reality. Death And Vanilla at once sound like everything is possible; but nothing else at all. There is a flicker of hope for everyone. “Deploying vintage instruments in their quest for melancholic utopia.” Electronic Sound “Baroque pop through a dreampop filter.” The Guardian