Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Smiling Pools

prah recordings

dinked 238 - very limited numbered* "whirlpool red" lp* in alternate artwork sleeve* - 1 per customer (pre-order)

Expected Release: 19th May 2023


limited indies only poolside blue lp (pre-order)

Expected Release: 19th May 2023


cd (pre-order)

Expected Release: 19th May 2023


This trio have enamoured us more deeply with each gig & record & we’re ecstatic at what they’ve uncovered now.

Building on their post-punk roots, they've created a lithe, adventurous work of propulsive abstract sound sculptures & acute lyrical observations.

Toby Burroughs, Rosa Brook, & Tom Jones quickly established something of a foundational template on 2019’s ‘PZI’: a hyper-skeletal sound palette of drums, bass & three distinct vocals disrupted by Rosa’s churning violins, from which emerged biting social observations & political angst. These hallmarks haven’t fully disappeared but from that urgent energy there has emerged greater confidence & a playful desire to push further out from the loose genre tag of post-punk they were initially saddled with.

FOR FANS OF: Gang Of Four / Sinead O Brien / PiL / Teleman / Wire

Smiling Pools


  1. What You Came For
  2. Slightly Shaking Cells
  3. Failing
  4. Pest Control
  5. Somnambulance
  6. Through The Door
  7. M6 Toll
  8. Heavenly
  9. Faulty Receiver
  10. Shut Up
  11. 24 Deliveru
  12. A Walk In The Park


Dinked edition 238

- “Whirlpool Red” coloured vinyl *

- Alternative artwork sleeve *

- Hand numbered edition *

- Limited pressing of 300 *

*EXCLUSIVE to Dinked Edition